Map of Asia and List of Asian Countries

Where on Earth is Asia?

Asia is in the central and eastern part of Eurasia, west of Europe, NorthWest of the continent of Africa or Northeast of Australia.

Asia is the world’s largest and most populous continent. Some of the more popular Asian destinations and those typically associated with being “Asian” are in the Eastern, Southern and Southeastern regions of Asia. Southwestern Asia includes countries that are considered the Middle East nations, while Central Asia is made of 5 former Soviet republics Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

Map of Asian Countries

Map not to scale. Not shown on this map is Egypt (mostly African, Sinai Peninsula shares border with Israel).
Map of Asia, showing Asian countries

Russia Kazakhstan Mongolia North Korea South Korea Japan Philippines Indonesia Indonesia Brunei Laos Cyprus Lebanon Israel Jordan Turkey Armenia Azerbaijan Georgia Kuwait Bahrain Qatar Yemen Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan Uzbekistan Nepal Bhutan Bangladesh Singapore Malaysia India India Cambodia Thailand Myanmar Myanmar Vietnam Saudi Arabia Oman Iraq Syria Iran Turkmenistan Afghanistan Pakistan China Indonesia Malaysia Indonesia Indonesia Georgia Sri Lanka Maldives United Arab Emirates

Countries of Asia – List of Sovereign States and Capital Cities

List of sovereign states using official short name in English, followed by ISO 2-letter and capital cities in Asia.

A | B | C | E | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O |P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | Y | bottom

Afghanistan AF- Kabul
Armenia AM – Yerevan
Azerbaijan AZ – Baku

Bahrain BH - Manama
Bangladesh BD – Dhaka
Bhutan BH- Thimphu
Brunei BN – Bandar Seri Begawan

Cambodia KH – Phnom Penh
China (People’s Republic of China) CN- Beijing
Cyprus CY – Nicosia

Egypt* EG – Cairo

Georgia* GE- Tbilisi

Hong Kong^ HK

India IN – New Delhi
Indonesia ID – Jakarta
Iran IR – Tehran
Iraq IQ – Baghdad
Israel IL – Jerusalem

Japan JP – Tokyo
Jordan JO – Amman

Kazakhstan* KZ – Astana
Korea, South (Republic of Korea) KR – Seoul
Korea, North (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) KP – Pyongyang
Kuwait KW – Kuwait City
Kyrgyzstan KG – Bishkek

Laos LA – Vientiane
Lebanon LB – Beirut

Macau^ MO
Malaysia MY- Kuala Lumpur
Maldives MV – Malé
Mongolia MN – Ulaanbaatar
Myanmar MM – Naypyidaw

Nepal NP – Kathmandu

Oman OM – Muscat

Pakistan PK – Islamabad
Philippines PH – Manila

Qatar QA – Doha

Russia* RU – Moscow

Saudi Arabia SA – Riyadh
Singapore SG
Sri Lanka LK – Colombo
Syria SY – Damascus

Taiwan (Republic of China) TW – Taipei
Tajikistan TJ – Dushanbe
Turkey* TR – Ankara
Thailand TH – Bangkok
Turkmenistan TM – Ashgabat
Timor Leste (East Timor) TL – Dili

United Arab Emirates AE – Abu Dhabi
Uzbekistan UZ- Tashkent

Vietnam VN – Hanoi

Yemen YE – Sana’a

A | B | C | E | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O |P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | Y | top

*These are transcontinental (spanning more than one continent) countries: Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkey (Europe-Asia) and Egypt (Africa-Asia). Cyprus is physically in Asia but culturally considered part of Europe.
^Special administrative region of the People’s Republic of China.

Related Posts

Tags: , , ,
Filed in: asia, general information

Do you have something to add? Please leave a comment.
You can also subscribe to our feed to get future articles delivered to your feed reader for free.


No comments yet.

Leave a comment